cracking of bricks

• Hi- I am new to the forms and very interested in potentially building a dome within the next year. In reading about aircrete, one of the articles I found advised that due to the brittle nature of aircrete it is not advisable to use as a building material

http://skill-builder.uk/aircrete-blocks

I have also read in some of the forum posts that perhaps PVA fibers could be added to the aircrete mix for additional tensile strength. Do you have a recommendation for when added PVA fibers is appropriate? Thanks in advance.

-j

• Little Dragon Tamer Major Contributor

funny thing but I wonder if sawdust is viable....

• Little Dragon Tamer Forum Facilitator

Welcome to the forum for aircrete pioneers. Thanks for your interest and your post. Thanks for questioning the norm.

One of the articles I found advised that due to the brittle nature of aircrete it is not advisable to use as a building material

For the average do-what-everybody-else-does builder, this information is perfectly correct. For them it is the correct answer for several reasons on several levels. For others, the statement is humorous.

Brittle is a relative term. The concept of brittle is relative to other materials, and/or what you are intending to build. Giving advice based on a completely relative aspect without stating what it's relative to, leaves a lot to assume.

Concrete is quite brittle in comparison to certain other building materials such as granite and solid steel. Due to the brittle nature of concrete it is not advisable to use it as a building material without incorporating vast amounts of steel to keep it from cracking apart. I've worked with plenty of concrete and enough aircrete to say that concrete is more brittle than aircrete. Pour two walkways 4-6 inches deep, one pure aircrete and the other pure concrete (no rebar, thanks) and I'm pretty sure the concrete will crack up more.