Aircrete and earth-berming

• Little Dragon Tamer Forum Facilitator

@jwboing I imagine that an aircrete dome would provide a lot more than insulation even if underground. The way I figure it, the pressure of the soil would work together on all sides to hold the dome in place. The aircrete dome would be the form around which one could build an earth dome. In other words, the soil itself would merely add to the strength.

I am no engineer, and have no experience building anything underground. This is merely what feels correct to me.

• @zander
    Your spot on Zander! Yes, the structure would get stronger...

• I built an earthbag home with intersecting vaults of ferrocement as a roof. I’m still experimenting with aircrete- did not want to use foam because it’s been implicated in the deaths of firemen and occupants due to the hydrogen cyanide gas that’s released when the stuff burns. I’ve been going for fireproof as opposed to flame resistant. No fire district where I live.
    I’m on well water and the water is hard which seems to be causing my attempts at aircrete to fail so far...
    In terms of a hobbit house that can actually heat and cook itself with the sun and earth, something resembling an earthship would be good- greenhouse for food and to heat the home without other inputs even in harsh winters. But tire wall construction is very laborious and I’ve found with earthbags I need to cover the bare bags so in effect attach stucco wire to both faces. It would be far easier to build two ferrocement walls with a gap and backfill / tamp earth into place. Or simply start with a ferrocement shell and bury it- ferrocement is famously strong. I would insert photos but that feature isn’t working with my phone. I’ve got many photos of the construction process at my non commercial, personal blog: TypeThisToSeeIt.com)

• Great info and blog. Looking forward to following along!

• @zander